Buy Apple, it just works! – Total Bullshit

I have colleagues at work as well as friends who are rabid Apple fans.  They consistently tell me that I must be mad not joining the club because Apple products “Just work”.  Well I can tell you from personal experience that this statement is pure, unadulterated bullshit.

Personally, I have been using a PC for years but I did succumb and buy an iPhone 2 years ago.  I need to say that the phone itself is great and so are the apps.  However, let me share a dose of reality.

For the past 12 months, iTunes has refused to complete the o/s updates on the iPhone.  The process begins and after 3 or 4 minutes it alerts me that the update has failed.  This is despite updating iTunes itself.  Essentially it hasn’t mattered because all the applications and the phone itself continued to work well.  Anyway, last week there were 20 app updates waiting and I had put this off for a while and then decided I may as well.  After updating all the apps I tried to use a few of them and each one failed.  It opened for a fraction of a second and then closed immediately.  I realised that it was probably because the phone o/s was an early 3 series and the latest o/s was 4.2.  So I tried to update the o/s once again via iTunes, but it still refused to update the o/s.

So, I realised that the only way to possibly do this was to try using my partners MacBook Pro.  Of course in doing so it warned me that all apps, music, photos etc would be deleted.  So it did a back up and then replaced the o/s, which went smoothly.  Then I restored the back up that I had just done and then the fun began.  Most of the apps were missing and core apps like ‘Notes’ all my notes had been erased except for 3 of them and typically they were 3 that wouldn’t have mattered if they had been erased.  All other data contained in the other remaining apps, such as ‘To Do’ lists were gone.

So I came back to iTunes on my own computer to reinstall a previous back up from there, but they had all gone.  Then I noticed that the links between the songs in iTunes and where they were stored on the external hard drive were gone.  I have 3500 tracks and I was not about to individually link them back to the file on the drive (as the forum’s suggested).  So I thought the easiest way is to delete all the song titles from the main library and build it again, which I did.  However, this also removed all information about the tracks that I had legitimately purchased from the Apple store, and they were nowhere to be found in iTunes, nor could I remember them because there is a reasonable list.

It has taken 3 fucking days to get this whole shitty mess resolved.  The only thing that saved my sorry arse was that I could retrieve library file data from and external back up, which then gave me back my playlists and purchased track data.  On top of this, when I went to synch the phone to get the rest of the apps back on as well as the music library, that piece of software shit known as itunes decided that the iphone was now an ipod and tried to erase what was currently on the iPhone.  This has now taken me another 5 hours this evening and it would seem that everything is back, I think.

To help explain that it just doesn’t happen to me, my partners friend who lives near by rang for help after she updated her iTunes program to the very latest version and her entire music library has gone – completely.  Not just from iTunes but from her computer.  After frustrating calls to Apple the guy actually admitted “Yeah, this happens quite a lot”.

So the next time some deluded Apple fan tells me, buy Apple because it ‘just works’, it will give me perverse pleasure to tell them to fuck off.

One thought on “Buy Apple, it just works! – Total Bullshit

  1. Yes, yes, yes. I have an iPod touch 2nd gen, and it refuses to connect with my computer… Even with other cables. My USB flash drive works perfectly.

Leave a Reply

