Goodbye to 2010………..

Last night I reflected on the year 2010.  I think it has been one of the most eventful years that I can remember.  When I thought about where we were and what we were doing at the same time last year, it actually felt like more than 2 years ago, and that has not happened for a long time.  Usually it feels like you have just celebrated a New Year and here we are again – not this time.

Some of the main highlights across the year.  Firstly going to London with my youngest daughter for the weekend to spend some time alone.  This was then followed by a weekend to Paris with my older daughter, for the same reason.  Soon after K & I went to Rome for a few days and explored more of Abbruzzo.  Came back from that and the week after we went to the Gementee (local council) and formed a Dutch ‘Marriage’.  Then my father came up from NZ for 10 days to spend time with his grand daughter and I, so I took off a few days to spend with him.  Immediately after that my brother and his wife flew in from Greece (where they were on holiday) to celebrate the joint birthday of myself and my eldest daughter (we share the same birthday).  Immediately after that my friend Geoff Bennun arrived for a few days and we celebrated his 60th birthday here in Amsterdam.  Four weeks after that he was murdered in his home outside of Manila, which completely stopped my life and forced a big re-assessment of a number of things.  Just worked my way through this and then K’s brother turned up for a few days, immediately followed by her mother for nearly a week.  Three days after she left K & I jumped on an airplane and off to Delhi for a 2 week holiday in India.  Came home, settled back in for a few weeks then off to the UK again for work, a week after Rome for a week for work and 2 weeks after that I jumped on an airplane to NZ for 2 weeks for family stuff.  Got back from that in the second week of December and here we are. On top of all of this add into the mix two sets of friends having their first child, other friends getting divorced or splitting up and all in all its been one hell of year.

The strange thing is that K and I both agree that this pace seems to work for us.  So here is to another frenetic year in 2011.  For those of you who do follow this blog, I wish you all the very best and lets see what the year brings.

Leave a Reply

