Amsterdam to Auckland

I had honestly forgotten how hard it is to sit on your arse for 24 hours on an airplane seat.  Yesterday I travelled from Amsterdam to Auckland with one 3 hour transit stop in Singapore.  Fortunately Singapore Airlines provides the fastest connection, but it means that you sit on your butt for 24 hours.  When I reached Auckland, I had had enough.

Now that I am here there are 2 things that I need to physically adjust to.  The first is that I am exactly 12 hours ahead of Europe so when I talk with K, she is going to bed at around a similar time that I get out of bed.  Over a period of time I think it will definitely add to a sense of dislocation with her rhythm at home.  The second thing is of course the weather.  Yesterday as I flew out of Schiphol it had just begun to snow and here this morning it is bright, beautiful and on the way to 25c.  I think it will take a couple of days to get rid of the jet lag and to start to slot in to NZ.

Leave a Reply

