Geoffrey Bennun – Some final words

A couple of weeks have passed and as people have struggled to come to terms with Geoffrey’s death, this blog inadvertantly allowed for everyone to expresses their thoughts and create a sense of shared community.  I have looked back over all the comments from Geoffrey’s far flung friends and I feel honoured to count myself amongst this community.  As we all begin to move on with our lives, I want to leave you with two small thoughts that I found, that when reading may provide a brief pause for reflection and possibly a small sense of peace. 

(1)  A ship sails and I stand watching till she fades on the horizon
and someone at my side says
He is gone.
 

 Gone where? Gone from my sight, that is all.
He is just as large now as when I last saw him.
His diminished size and total loss from my sight is in me, not in him.
 

 And just at that moment, when someone at my side says he is gone,
there are others who are watching him coming over their horizon
and other voices take up a glad shout –
There he comes!
 

That is what dying is.
An horizon and just the limit of our sight.
 

   

(2) No one’s death comes to pass without making some impression, and those close to the deceased inherit part of the liberated soul and become richer in their humanness. (Hermann Broch) 

4 thoughts on “Geoffrey Bennun – Some final words

  1. I only knew Geoffrey a short time.I will always cherish the time, I learn’t so much from him and I will never forget him. I send my wishes of sorrow to his family and many,many friends.

  2. Hello I never knew Geofferey but i wanted to say i was sorry for what has happend My father was james bolton the briton shot dead also from mark dizon I really sorry for your loss

  3. It’s been a year since Geoffrey was shot dead… a statement that continues to be as incredible as it is true. His murder will forever remain a festering gouge in my life, a cavernous wound so huge, it defies closure.

    I liked Geoffrey from our first meeting at the Inn on the Park hotel In Toronto,, 40 years ago. I grew to love this charming,smart, frank humorous adventurer . His many friends the world over felt the same way.

    Geoffrey and I crossed paths in Toronto during the Canadian National Exhibition in august 1985.. We zigzagged through the midway, sampling every grease filled, calorie crammed, concoction in creation, taking a nibble at stuff and tossing it in the bin. Although we were well along in our careers, me as a journalist, he as a hotelier, he made time to submerge himself in boyish decadence Then we saw Bruce Springsteen. I count myself fortunate to have such memories to treasure.

    Geoffrey was a soul mate, a true friend, the likes of which I will never experience again. I’m not surprised many people hold similar sentiments. He was a terrific fellow, one of a kind.

    • Hi David,
      I often remember our dinner that evening with the 4 of us at our house in Brisbane. It was one of those truly entertaining evenings that stay with you all your life. I want to send you my very best wishes and kind thoughts on this anniversary.

Leave a Reply

