My weekend in Paris

Just back from my weekend with Zoe in Paris.  A really great experience.  Walked and walked and walked covering a lot of territory.  For the first time in my life I went thru the 3.5 hour experience of queuing to get to the top of the Eiffel Tower, but the joy that it bought to Zoe overcame the frustration of the experience.  I did learn one thing that I thought was pretty cool.  The engineered design of the tower means that the actual overall weight of the tower has a lesser weight than the equivalent volume of air.  If you could take a cylinder with the dimensions of 88 mts diameter and 324 mtrs high, the air inside would weigh 10,265 tonnes versus 10,100 tonnes of the Eiffel Tower.

So over the weekend we covered Eiffel Tower, Place Concorde, Champs Elysee, Montmarte, Sacre Coeur, Salvador Dali Musuem, Musee Orsay, Jardin des Tuileries, Trocadero, St Michel and L’église de la Madeleine.  This also included Sunday brunch with my (almost) life long friends John & Annie with their grand daughter.  Some ground was covered!

The main thing was that Zoe and I had a ball.  Took photos, explored clothing shops (Zoe) as well a fantastic chocolate shops and cheese shops.

I did feel sorry for her though.  On Friday night she ended up sleeping in the bath with the door closed because my snoring was driving her insane 🙂   Solved the problem for Saturday by buying her ear plugs.

Leave a Reply

